Creepy Reads: Exorsisters Volume 1 by Ian Boothby and Gisèle Lagacé

Creepy Reads: Exorsisters Volume 1 by Ian Boothby and Gisèle Lagacé


Synopsis

Did you sign a deal with the devil? Has a loved one been dragged to Hell? Then Kate and Cate Harrow should be the first ones you call for timely soul removal at a reasonable rate. This collection is perfect for fans of case-solving procedurals like Veronica Mars, Netflix’s Jessica Jones, and the CW’s Supernatural, and introduces readers to the Harrows, who have to deal with the end of the world, fallen angels, demon worshipping ex-boyfriends, and their Mother.


Details

  • Title: Exorsisters, Volume 1: Damned If You Don’t
  • Series: Exorsisters
  • Writer: Ian Boothby
  • Artist: Gisèle Lagacé
  • Colorist: Pete Pantazis
  • Letterer: Taylor Esposito
  • Publisher: Image Comics
  • ISBN: 1534312048
  • Publication Date: April 24, 2019

I’d like to thank Image Comics for providing an advance copy via Edelweiss+ in exchange for an honest review.


Review

This is the kind of book that makes me want to stand on the street and press copies into the hands of unsuspecting passersby as I yell “Have you heard the good news about Exorsisters?!” A snarky, hilarious comic book perfect for fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Veronica Mars, and any number of gloriously disgusting horror flicks, Exorsisters is the story of Cate and Kate Harrow, twin sisters (…sort of) who make their money busting souls out of hell. Writer Ian Boothby does incredible work here, taking an ingenious premise and adding some of the funniest dialogue you’ll find on shelves today to craft a riveting storyline that leaves you breathless for the next issue. If I were reading this in monthly issues rather than in trade paperback, I guarantee that you would hear my voice in the distance about every fourth Wednesday or so shouting, “Damn you, Boothby!” This series is just that addictive, with a killer ending (pun occasionally intended) to every issue.

Gisèle Lagacé’s artwork is outstanding, with monsters that reach the perfect unsettling intersection of creepy and hilarious. Just one glance at any panel with both Cate and Kate in it will show how different their personalities are that’s no small feat when drawing identical(ish) twins. Granted, the girls have very different fashion and hair styles, but the way Lagacé establishes character with facial expressions and body language, you would have no doubt which sister was which even if they went full Grady Twins and dressed alike all the time. Lagacé excels at moments that make you want to linger over her art to appreciate the brilliant humor and character work: in three quick panels, she makes a sentient flame-monster in a fish tank just as heartbreakingly adorable as any cat video the Internet has ever produced, and I’m still laughing over Buzz, Cate’s (formerly human) ex who shows up in the form of a demonic housefly but still sports his sweet soul patch from the good ol’ days. Pete Pantazis’s colors are equally fantastic he does a terrific job of conveying all the different qualities of light that one would find in the various hell and hell-adjacent dimensions that the Harrows encounter in their line of work.

If you don’t already have Exorsisters on your pull list, I suggest you rectify that posthaste. It’s sharp-witted, beautifully drawn, and just so damn fun. With its clean art and fast pace, it would also be a great gateway drug introductory read for those of you who don’t consider yourselves comics fans; it’s rated T+, so it’s cool to share with the kids too. If you enjoy horror-comedy or splattertastic demon-hunting or snarky private eyes, you will love this book. Now…go forth, add it to your pull list, and spread the gospel of Exorsisters.


Rating

Have you heard the good news? I give this book 5 out of 5 coffins.

5 Coffins


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s